First Post

So, this is my first post for the apprenticeship program at Pernix, a software development company located in San José, Costa Rica. They primarily develop web applications for US customers, but they also make OTRS Help Desk and SugarCRM implementations in the area. I got this opportunity because I saw a post that they were looking for college students that wanted to learn in a real work environment, so I applied. In my opinion, this is a nice program to promote because lots and lots of employers look for people with experience, and for newly graduated college students without any experience, this task may get hard. Another great thing about this program is that it not only teaches about software-related things, but it also makes you to practice english language and soft-skills.

I am an IT Management student and I’m currently in the 4th of 5 years of carreer. Since my carreer it’s not all about programming, I won’t be learning about the web application development technologies the business uses, instead I’m going to start learning the OTRS Help Desk for now and then see what comes next. My goal is to post several tutorials and information about this tool.

Overall, I am really excited about this opportunity because I’ve always wanted to have a little approach into the business world and this is the perfect chance for this. I hope I learn a lot from this experience and that it contributes to my professional development.

I’m going to finish this with a quote that is posted in the wall at Pernix:

Learning is not a product of schooling but the lifelong attempt to acquire it. Albert Einstein

Leave a comment